Home > Entertainment > Video > DIRECTV Reviews: Is It Worth the Price?

DIRECTV Reviews: Is It Worth the Price?

How do we keep this site running? This post may contain affiliate links — the cost is the same to you, but we get a referral fee. Compensation does not affect rankings. Thanks!

Finger pushing button on TV remoteDIRECTV or DISH? That’s the question we all face today. If you’re looking for satellite TV, these are your best options. This article is dedicated to everything DIRECTV. While there are many things to like about DIRECTV, including diverse channel selection and constant innovations, there are some things you may dislike. We’ll go over the features, pricing, pros and cons, plans and more in our DIRECTV Reviews.

Directv logo

Visit DIRECTV’s Website

DIRECTV or DISH? That's the question we all face today. If you're looking for satellite TV, these are your best options. This article is dedicated to everything DIRECTV. While there are many things to like about DIRECTV, including diverse channel selection and constant innovations, there are some things you may dislike. We'll go over the features, pricing, pros and cons, plans and more in our DIRECTV Reviews. Visit DIRECTV's Website What is Direct TV? DIRECTV is a satellite TV provider. They offer Internet and phone services as well. With DIRECTV, you can watch, record, pause, rewind and fast forward your shows and…

Review Overview

Customer Service & Reputation
Price
Channels Available
DVR Features

4.06/5.00

DIRECTV offers more than 315 channels and their Genie has features that are almost impossible to pass up. However, their pricing and customer service could use some work.

What is Direct TV?

DIRECTV is a satellite TV provider. They offer Internet and phone services as well. With DIRECTV, you can watch, record, pause, rewind and fast forward your shows and movies. DIRECTV is often compared to DISH since they are the two leading satellite TV providers. To see how DIRECTV compares against DISH, check out our comparison article.

Pros

Cons

  • Record up to 5 shows and movies at a time with Genie
  • Watch different recordings and shows at the same time in different rooms
  • 315+ channels
  • Genie recommends new shows to watch
  • Cannot fully customize your own package
  • 24-month contract
  • Similar packages from DISH are less expensive
  • Weather can affect satellite signal (true of all satellite services)

Pricing

DIRECTV prices are listed below as well as DIRECTV bundles. In February 2016 we looked at pricing and when we checked back in November 2016 prices had increased 56% to 75%. DIRECTV used to give bigger discounts for the first 12 months of service, but those prices have doubled from February to November 2016.

DIRECTV PackagesPriceNumber of Channels
Select$88/month ($50/month the first 12 months)145+
Entertainment$98/month ($55/month the first 12 months)150+
Choice$111/month ($60/month the first 12 months)175+
Xtra$118/month ($70/month the first 12 months)220+
Ultimate$128/month ($75/month the first 12 months)240+
Premier$181/month ($125/month the first 12 months)315+

Direct TV Deals

  • Get 140 Channels for $35.00 a month for 12 months with DIRECTV
  • Check out our DIRECTV Promo Codes page for discount codes that will save you even more $$.

DIRECT TV Reviews

Below are some other key components to DIRECTV.

DIRECTV Customer Service

Like all big name companies, DIRECTV has plenty of negative comments regarding their customer service. But when you look at the competition (DISH) they do too. So although they aren’t outstanding, they also aren’t completely worse than others. It’s up to you to decide if their customer service is worth the price. Just check out some of the comments on this page to see what we’re talking about.

Direct TV Genie

The Genie is DIRECTV’s premium HD DVR. It records up to 200 hours of HD TV, records up to 5 shows at once and can be programmed for viewing on a 4K TV. This gives great video and viewing experiences. Watch the video below to learn more about DIRECTV Genie. Also, be sure to read our review of Direct TV’s Genie.

Can I Move DIRECTV to My New House?

Moving your DIRECTV service to your new home is relatively simple. All you have to do is call them to schedule your move-in date and ask about the Movers Deal. Then, pack up your receivers, remotes and TVs and move them with you. Your satellite dish can stay at your old home. Although this sounds easy, we cannot speak to DIRECTV’s timeliness. (We’ve all been there before, taken a half day off work to be there for a delivery or installation and the person never comes. We are unsure on their performance and promptness.) Reports suggest this may be due to AT&T using third party contractors since the acquisition.

Customer Reviews

Positive Reviews

My entire experience was exceptional. All the representatives I spoke to were really great. We were so excited about the package that we signed up for especially since we received a really good deal on the sports package. Unfortunately, we found out that our apartment complex wouldn’t allow any additional services needed for installation. Sadly, we had to cancel because of this. We will soon be moving back to the south and we look forward to establishing services during that time. Keep up the good work, to all the reps that assisted us during this process. -Bedelia, Consumer Affairs 9/10/2015

I have had a great experience with them so far.   I have had excellent service, calls returned promptly – problems dealt with immediately.  I cannot complain. -Sandy, Yelp 1/9/2014

Negative Reviews

20 minutes on hold, constantly repeating itself with DirecTV commercials and superiority, while in the phone queue to cancel service call. -Jack, Consumer Affairs 2/12/2016

The only reason DirectTV is getting one star is because zero stars is not an option.  This company loves to nickel and dime the shit out of everything.  They only thing they are generous with is their crappy music they play while you are on hold for an hour.  On top of that the reception sucks.  I would rather rely on the old fashioned bunny ears for television than DirectTV, at least the bunny ears are more reliable. -Michael, Yelp 2/11/2016

Should You Get DIRECTV?

Honestly, that’s up to you. Did you know that one in six adults watch at least 40 hours of TV per week? That number clearly shows that TV is a main form of entertainment for many of us. We all have our own tastes when it comes to what we watch on television. For example, most of what I watch can be done on Hulu or Netflix for under $20/month. However, if you’re a sports fanatic or like to watch the news daily, satellite TV may be the way to go. We suggest you make a list of what you want to watch and compare that list against other companies and packages. That way you are getting what you want for the least amount of money.

Have you had satellite TV before? Did you love it or hate it?

Kimberly researches everything before she buys. She wants to make sure she is getting the best bang for her buck by purchasing the best product/service, which is why she loves her work. She has a degree in Multimedia Journalism and has been researching and writing professionally since 2013 to help consumers make more educated decisions.

Leave a Reply

1 Comment on "DIRECTV Reviews: Is It Worth the Price?"

avatar
Sort by:   newest | oldest | most voted
BruceR
BruceR

I hardly ever watch TV and when I do it’s on my Apple TV!

wpDiscuz

Send this to friend