Home Security Systems Reviews (2022): SimpliSafe vs Ring vs Vivint vs ADT vs Cove vs Frontpoint vs Brinks vs Kangaroo vs Nest & More

To keep the lights on, we receive affiliate commissions via some of our links. Our review process.

Home security app (caption: Home Security Systems Reviews)

Do you need help finding a home security system but are overwhelmed with your options? Our team of experts has over 75 years of combined experience researching, testing, and using home security systems.

We’ve reviewed 16 professionally monitored security companies. Our strict review protocol ensures our research is unbiased. We take into account customer service, equipment, technology, ease of use, and value to come up with a score for each company.

We listen to our you, our reader for feedback and value any personal experience you have to share. We add new companies to review as they establish a market presence.

16 Home Security Companies Reviewed

Our experts have gone in-depth trying to discern which home security system provider offers not only the best value, but the best customer service, the most cutting edge technology, and the most developed smart home capabilities.

You can jump straight to a company’s review by clicking on “read review” in the table below.

Top 3 And Category Winners

FrontpointLink InteractiveSimpliSafeRingADTVivint
 
Ranking1st2nd3rdLow Cost, No ContractProfessional InstallSmart Home
Total Score4.704.184.154.003.302.75
Customer Service & Reputation4.84.34.54.02.01.0
Equipment4.83.83.83.34.34.0
Technology4.84.03.54.33.53.0
Value4.54.54.54.03.02.0
Ease Of Use4.84.34.54.53.83.8
 Read
Review
Read
Review
Read
Review
Read
Review
Read
Review
Read
Review

Winner: Frontpoint

Frontpoint logo

Visit Website | 833-654-0225

Frontpoint wins this year for the overall best home security system. It’s one of the few home security companies that offer cellular monitoring for every single one of its monitoring packages.

Frontpoint equipment
ProsCons
  • Has 2 monitoring stations
  • 30-day risk-free trial
  • All plans have cellular monitoring
  • Known for its superior customer service
  • Compatible with Amazon Alexa and Google Home
  • Self-installation
  • No long-term contract (you pay month-to-month with no cancellation fee)
  • Higher monitoring fees

Dive deeper into why Frontpoint wins our top spot for for best home security system.

Runner-Up: Link Interactive

Link Interactive logo

Visit Website | 877-826-5443

Link Interactive has a three-year equipment warranty, a great customer service team, and its battery backup is shorter (only eight hours) for one of its control panels.

However, its monthly monitoring cost is less expensive than Frontpoint, which puts it right in the running behind our leader. Another advantage that Link Interactive has going for it is its customizability. There are no equipment bundles (everything is à la carte), so you can build your own system and only pay for the equipment you need.

We also like that Link Interactive has many camera options. So you can keep an eye on your property, family, and pets all through the app.

Link Interactive equipment
ProsCons
  • Has 2 monitoring stations
  • 30-day money-back guarantee
  • All plans have cellular monitoring
  • Compatible with Amazon Alexa and Google Home
  • Self-installation
  • 1, 2, or 3-year monitoring contract required
  • Customers report some installation hiccups
  • You must pay 75% of the contract even if you cancel

Find out how Link Interactive garnered the runner-up position in our best home security systems showdown.

Third Place: SimpliSafe

SimpliSafe logo

Visit Website | 888-910-1458

SimpliSafe stands out as another option for those who want to avoid a long-term contract (Frontpoint and Ring Alarm are the only other companies in this article to offer a similar feature). You can pay month-to-month for professional monitoring, and if you decide to stop service, there are no contract restrictions or early termination fees.

However, the website, overall functionality, and especially the app are fairly bare-bones (“simple” if you will, pun intended) when compared to a company like Frontpoint, and the equipment lineup isn’t as extensive. Their long-awaited camera (the SimpliCam) is finally available as well, and according to them, you will receive priority police dispatch with video-verified events.

But their monthly monitoring price is very affordable, and they offer environmental sensors (smoke, carbon monoxide (CO), water, freeze, and leak detection) to protect you from invisible threats. Keep in mind that there are other threats to your home besides an intruder. Installing environmental sensors can save you thousands of dollars in home repairs, and these types of sensors are becoming more available by many home security companies.

SimpliSafe equipment
ProsCons
  • Has 6 monitoring stations
  • Excellent customer service
  • Self-installation
  • No contracts
  • Compatible with Amazon Alexa and Google Home
  • 60-day money-back guarantee
  • Self-monitoring functionality is tied to a monthly payment plan
  • Equipment costs are higher than competitors
  • Website and app don’t indicate low battery alert
  • No outdoor security cameras

SimpliSafe gained our 3rd spot this year, find out how it made it in our best security systems comparison.

Low Cost, No Contract: Ring Alarm

Ring Alarm Winner 2020

View on Amazon | Visit Website

Ring Alarm uses the same company as Frontpoint for its monitoring (Rapid Response), and it’s offered at a very affordable price. It has Z-Wave and Zigbee connectivity but only a one-year equipment warranty.

Ring is the only company in this comparison to offer solar-powered equipment (available for outdoor cameras and yard signs). We love that Ring is leading the charge on this and hope to see more companies providing solar-powered home security equipment in the future.

Ring was close to making our top picks, but its system and app have limited functionality because it offers fewer equipment options than competitors. However, its low equipment fees, affordable monthly monitoring plan, and lack of contract make it our best pick for our low cost, no contract category.

Ring Alarm Equipment
ProsCons
  • Has 2 monitoring stations
  • Attractive equipment design
  • If your equipment is stolen, Ring will replace it for free
  • Professional monitoring is optional
  • No contracts
  • Self-installation
  • 30-day returns
  • Compatible with Amazon Alexa and Google Home
  • Option to add emergency contacts
     
  • Limited equipment reduces system’s capabilities

Learn more about Ring Alarm and how it stacked up against the best home security providers.

Professional Installation: ADT

Professional Installation: ADT

Visit Website | 833-276-1428

ADT is the name that comes to many people’s minds when they think about home security. It’s one of the oldest and most well-known companies in the arena. But because of the professional installation, it’s more expensive than much of the competition. In addition, customer service varies by location, and ADT has a long list of customer complaints.

On the plus side, it’s available nationwide, is professionally installed by a local authorized dealer, has a solid app, and allows many equipment options. If you want a big-name company that will install the system for you, ADT fits the bill. But you can get cellular monitoring with similar equipment for a lower price from other providers by installing yourself.

ADT Equipment
ProsCons
  • Has 10 monitoring stations
  • 6-month guarantee
  • Can be professionally installed in your home within 1 to 2 days after ordering, in most cases
  • Includes basic equipment at no additional cost
  • Compatible with Amazon Alexa and Google Home
  • 3-year monitoring contract required
  • Requires a technician to visit your home and install
  • Cameras have 720p resolution, not 1080p
  • Many customer service complaints about ADT including extra charges on bills, incomplete installations, high-pressure sales tactics, and more
  • Among the most expensive compared to its competitors
  • May charge 75% of the remaining contract if you cancel early

Learn more about ADT and how their professional installation service sets them apart in our top alarm systems showdown.

Smart Home: Vivint

Vivint Alarm Winner 2020

Visit Website | 833-277-6361

Vivint is another company that offers cellular monitoring for all of its plans. But it comes with a high price and a lengthy contract. Also, its control panel only has a four-hour battery backup, which is minimal compared to other companies.

Vivint Equipment

Vivint wins the best smart home award because its app allows users to control its extensive smart home equipment lineup, and it’s very user-friendly.

ProsCons
  • Has 2 monitoring stations
  • All plans have cellular monitoring
  • Excellent smart home options
  • Compatible with Amazon Alexa and Google Home
  • If you pay for the equipment upfront, a month-to-month monitoring plan is available
  • Requires professional installation
  • 3.5 to 5-year contracts if you finance equipment
  • If you want cameras, you must purchase the highest monitoring plan
  • Expensive
  • 4-hour battery backup
  • Has one of the shortest equipment warranties we’ve seen (only 120 days)
  • Must provide written notice 30 days before your desired cancellation date, and you’re responsible for paying the remaining balance in full

Learn more about Vivint in our top home security systems awards.

Reviews Sorted By Company Name

The company you were looking for may not have landed in our top 6 this year, but that doesn’t mean it’s not the company best suited to your needs. Here’s 10 more providers reviewed. Don’t see your company reviewed? Let us know in the comments!

Abode Review

Abode logo

View on Amazon | Visit Website

Abode has a fair number of equipment options, but its app is pretty basic. It only offers a one-year equipment warranty, has six to seven hours of battery backup, and lacks two-way voice. However, if you’re looking for a self-monitoring option with basic equipment, Abode is a solid choice.

Abode Equipment
ProsCons
  • 30-day returns
  • Compatible with Amazon Alexa and Google Home
  • Self-installation
  • No contracts
  • Little customer feedback online
  • Limited customer support
  • Complaints of camera footage being low resolution
  • No outdoor security cameras
  • 6-7 hours battery backup
  • No 2-way voice

Full Abode Review

For in-depth equipment and plan pricing, pros & cons, key features, a deep dive into their app, user reviews, side-by-side comparisons to competitors, and more, read our dedicated Abode review.

AT&T Digital Life Review

AT&T Digital Life logo

Visit Website

AT&T Digital Life isn’t available everywhere in the U.S., so be sure to check the availability in your area before you set your heart on this system. Unfortunately, it’s not compatible with many of the standard smart home devices and technologies, making this system a poor choice for home automation lovers.

It only has one monitoring station (and the monitoring is performed in-house), so it’s not as well equipped as its competitors. In fact, you could be left to fend for yourself if that single monitoring station experiences a power outage.

AT&T Digital Life also has higher prices and requires monthly add-on fees for items that are included for other competitors. You may be able to get a slightly better price by bundling it with other services but, overall, it’s not among our top picks.

AT&T Digital Life Equipment
ProsCons
  • Conversion Kit available to reuse existing wired door and window sensors in your home
  • Compatible with Amazon Alexa (but not Google Home)
  • 14-day money-back guarantee
  • Only available in select locations
  • Smoke sensors not available for apartments, townhomes & duplexes
  • Active Doorbell doesn’t include a camera
  • Website has limited information compared to competitors
  • Up to $99 restock fee on returns made within 14 days
  • 2-year contract required
  • No Z-Wave or Zigbee compatibility
  • Only one monitoring station
  • Requires professional installation
  • Early termination fee is up to $640, and an additional $50 applies for incremental automation packages

Full AT&T Digital Life Review

For in-depth equipment and plan pricing, pros & cons, key features, a deep dive into their app, user reviews, side-by-side comparisons to competitors, and more, read our dedicated AT&T Digital Life review.

Brinks Home Security Review

Brinks Home Security logo

Visit Website | 833-327-4657

Brinks is one of the few security companies to offer connectivity with both Z-Wave and Zigbee devices, enhancing your home automation possibilities.

Unfortunately, it only has one in-house monitoring station and a two-year equipment warranty (most competitors offer a lifetime warranty). You can get home security systems from competitors at a similar cost with better monitoring and warranties.

Brinks Home Security equipment
ProsCons
  • 30-day risk-free trial
  • Compatible with Amazon Alexa and Google Home
  • Self-installation (professional available for $199)
  • Z-Wave and Zigbee connectivity (most competitors only connect to one)
  • Only one monitoring station (and not third-party)
  • 3-year contract required
  • Self-installation cannot be done independently (requires a technician to walk you through the process over the phone)
  • You must pay 100% of the contract amount, even if you cancel
  • Only has 8-hour battery backup (standard is 24 hours)

Full Brinks Review

For in-depth equipment and plan pricing, pros & cons, key features, a deep dive into their app, user reviews, side-by-side comparisons to competitors, and more, read our dedicated Brinks review.

Cove Security Review

Cove Security Logo

View on Amazon | Visit Website

A relative newcomer to home security (Cove Security opened for business in 2018), they offer fully customizable DIY security systems. Their equipment lineup is fairly barebones compared to the competition, but their equipment and monitoring fees are competitively priced.

Since Cove is so new to the home security space, it’s hard to get a full picture of what you can expect in regard to their customer service and reputation. But they appear to be gaining some good ground in the highly competitive DIY market.

Cove Security
ProsCons
  • Has 6 monitoring stations
  • 60-day risk-free trial
  • All plans have cellular monitoring
  • Compatible with Amazon Alexa and Google Home
  • Self-installation (DIY)
  • No contracts
  • No self-monitoring option
  • Must pay extra for smartphone access
  • Live chat is 9am to 6pm MST, which is less convenient for EST and CST customers
  • No backup if cellular goes down

Full Cove Security Review

For in-depth equipment and plan pricing, pros & cons, key features, a deep dive into their app, user reviews, side-by-side comparisons to competitors, and more, read our dedicated Cove Security review.

Guardian Security Review

Guardian Protection logo

Visit Website

Guardian Security offers a good lineup of wireless security and smart home equipment, and they have overall impressive customer reviews. However, their pricing is higher than many of their competitors, and they require professional installation and long-term monitoring contracts. Guardian is also only available in select cities in eight states in the U.S.

ProsCons
  • Has 2 monitoring stations
  • All equipment is wireless
  • All plans have cellular monitoring
  • Overall good customer service
  • Compatible with Z-Wave and Alexa
  • 3 or 5-year contract required
  • Requires a technician to visit your home and install
  • Among the most expensive compared to its competitors
  • Hefty early termination fees
  • Limited availability in the U.S.

Full Guardian Security Review

For in-depth equipment and plan pricing, pros & cons, key features, a deep dive into their app, user reviews, side-by-side comparisons to competitors, and more, read our dedicated Guardian Security review.

Kangaroo Review

Kangaroo Home Security Logo

Visit Website

Kangaroo is unique since it doesn’t require or offer a hub. You can purchase one device and begin monitoring through the app immediately. For example, you can buy a motion and entry sensor to monitor your dorm room, office, or other space and know when someone is entering the area.

Additionally, you can use Kangaroo to monitor an entire home or business. Simply purchase the motion or entry sensors you want for the whole area, install it, and be ready to go. There is no hub or control panel to sync it up with.

Kangaroo Starter Kit
ProsCons
  • Has 6 monitoring stations
  • Hub free
  • Excellent option for monitoring a single room
  • Compatible with Amazon Alexa and Google Home
  • Self-installation
  • No long-term contract
  • Broadband (WiFi) monitoring with no cellular backup
  • Not the safest option for a whole home security system
  • Newer so there’s little customer feedback
  • Few equipment options
  • No BBB page

Full Kangaroo Review

For in-depth equipment and plan pricing, pros & cons, key features, a deep dive into their app, user reviews, side-by-side comparisons to competitors, and more, read our dedicated Kangaroo review.

Nest Secure Review

Nest logo

Visit Website | 855-224-6378

Nest has a three-year contract or a month-to-month option. However, it’s $10 extra per month for the monthly option, so signing the three-year agreement can save you money. Nest Secure wouldn’t be our top pick, though, because it only has one monitoring station operated by Brinks. You can also self-monitor with Nest Secure.

Nest Secure product on table
ProsCons
  • Stylish design
  • 30-day money-back guarantee
  • Professional monitoring is optional
  • Self-installation
  • No-contract option available
  • Compatible with Amazon Alexa and Google Home
  • More expensive than competitors
  • Not compatible with as many devices as competitors
  • Only one monitoring station (run by Brinks)
  • You must pay 100% of the contract, even if you cancel

Full Nest Secure Review

For in-depth equipment and plan pricing, pros & cons, key features, a deep dive into their app, user reviews, side-by-side comparisons to competitors, and more, read our dedicated Nest Secure review.

Ooma Home Security Review

Ooma logo

View Ooma on Amazon

Ooma offers very basic home security equipment — we’re talking a few security and home safety sensors and no video camera options. But the system is an affordable option if all you want are the basics. The company also has super competitive monthly monitoring fees (with a highly-reputable professional monitoring service), or you can opt for self-monitoring.

Ooma Home Security
ProsCons
  • Has 2 monitoring stations
  • Affordable pricing
  • Easy DIY installation
  • Professional monitoring is optional
  • No contracts, month-to-month
  • Compatible with Alexa and Google Assistant
  • Extremely limited equipment – no cameras or home automation
  • Limited integrations
  • Professional monitoring not available in all states
  • Motion sensors aren’t pet-friendly
  • Customer service is hit or miss

Full Ooma Home Security Review

For in-depth equipment pricing, pros & cons, details on monitoring plans, a deep dive into their app, user reviews, and more, read our dedicated Ooma Home Security review.

Protection 1 Review

Protection One logo

Visit Website

Protection One Equipment

Protection 1 (aka Protection One) has outdated looking equipment compared to other home security companies, which may lead you to question its functionality as well. The equipment warranty length is only 90 days, and you have to upgrade plans to get basic features that others offer in their base packages. Protection 1 isn’t quite up to par with what we expect from a home security company.

ProsCons
  • Has 5 monitoring stations
  • Compatible with Amazon Alexa (not Google Home)
  • 3-year monitoring contract required
  • Live chat doesn’t let you talk back and forth with a person; instead, it sends an email
  • Has one of the worst warranty lengths we’ve seen (only 90 days)
  • Wireless doorbell doesn’t have a camera
  • 2-way voice isn’t available with the basic plan
  • Equipment is not modern looking
  • Requires professional installation
  • Canceling early may result in paying the remaining contract term
  • No money-back guarantee

Full Protection 1 Review

For in-depth equipment and plan pricing, pros & cons, key features, a deep dive into their app, user reviews, side-by-side comparisons to competitors, and more, read our dedicated Protection 1 review.

Scout Alarm Review

Scout Alarm

View on Amazon | Visit Website

Most of Scout Alarm’s equipment has a contemporary design, and you can even choose the color. But the sensors are rather bulky. It doesn’t offer an extensive list of equipment options, and the technology isn’t as advanced as its competitors.

Scout Alarm
ProsCons
  • Has 6 monitoring stations
  • 60-day returns
  • Compatible with Amazon Alexa and Google Home
  • Self-installation
  • No contracts
  • Door panel sensors are large and conspicuous
  • Self-monitoring functionality is tied to a monthly payment plan
  • No outdoor security cameras
  • Only 12-hour battery backup (competitors average 24 hours)
  • The hub doesn’t have 2-way voice

Full Scout Alarm Review

For in-depth equipment and plan pricing, pros & cons, key features, a deep dive into their app, user reviews, side-by-side comparisons to competitors, and more, read our dedicated Scout Alarm review.

Comparison Table

If there are any terms that you don’t understand, we have a terminology section in our home security systems guide.

 AbodeAT&T Digital LifeBrinksCove SecurityGuardianKangarooNest SecureOomaProtection 1Scout Alarm
Equipment Starting Cost$199$549.99$199Starting at $0Unavailable$7$399$126.18N/A$229
Pro Monitoring Monthly Starting Cost$20$39.99$39$15 or $25$45.99$10$29$14.99$34.99$19.99
Contract LengthNone2 Years3 YearsNone or 3 Years3 or 5 YearsNoneNone or 3 YearsNone3 YearsNone
InstallationDIYProfessionalDIY or ProfessionalDIYProfessionalDIYDIYDIYProfessionalDIY
Installation Fee$0$99.99 1st Hour + $65/Extra Hour$0 or $199$0$99$0$0$0$99$0
Money-Back Guarantee30 Days14 Days45 Days60 Days6 Months30 Days30 DaysUnavailableN/A60 Days
Warranty1 YearLifetime2 Years1 Year1 Year1 Year2 Years1 Year90 Days3 Years
Battery Backup6-7 Hours24 Hours8 Hours24 Hours24 HoursN/A12 Hours10 Hours24 Hours12 Hours
Self-Monitoring Option     
Third-Party Monitoring    
Main Form Of MonitoringBroadbandBroadband & CellularBroadbandCellularCellularBroadbandBroadbandBroadbandLandline & CellularBroadband
Backup Form Of MonitoringCellularBroadbandCellularNoneBroadbandNoneCellularNoneCellularCellular
Amazon Alexa Compatibility
Google Home Compatibility   

Review Criteria

How do we arrive at the rankings above? Our researchers consider the following review criteria: customer service, equipment, technology, ease of use, and value. A weighted average score is then calculated to arrive at a total score our experts use to rank the companies relative to one another. For a full explanation of our review criteria and how we calculate the final score, we invite you to visit our home security systems guide.

Frequently Asked Questions

Here’s questions we frequently get asked by our readers regarding home security systems. Don’t see yours? Ask us in the comments.

Anran Home Security System Reviews

I didn’t see Anran reviewed, do you cover their home security system? Anran does not manufacture entire home security systems, but rather they specialize in camera systems. You’ll find a selection of their offerings on Amazon. Most of these are CCTV style camera systems.

Edmonton And Ottawa Home Security Systems Reviews

Do you review home security systems in Canada? While our reviews cover primarily the U.S. market, some of the systems are available to Canadian consumers. If there is a system you’re interested in and you’re curious to find out if it’s available in your city, we recommend you ask the provider or hit us up in the comments.

Unbiased Reviews Of Home Security Systems

It seems like the Internet nowadays is just a collection of paid reviews and products. How can I be sure that your reviews are unbiased and involve legitimate research? We can’t blame you for being doubtful! We do compete with a lot of paid placement review sites. Our researchers conduct their research without knowledge of any monetary relationships. We invite you to view our criteria for ranking home security systems, and an explanation of our unbiased review process.

Tagged With:

The information provided through this website should not be used to diagnose or treat a health problem or disease; it is not intended to offer any legal opinion or advice or a substitute for professional safety advice or professional care. Please consult your health care provider, attorney, or product manual for professional advice. Products and services reviewed are provided by third parties; we are not responsible in any way for them, nor do we guarantee their functionality, utility, safety, or reliability. Our content is for educational purposes only.

Subscribe
Notify of
9 Comments
Newest
Oldest Most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments